Yes you can prevent them from following you and disconnect the people you don’t want your notifications going to.
- Go into settings icon
- Go to "Profile Settings", you will find a list of your followers
- You can block the one’s you no longer want following you.
- Under your connections in your profile settings, you can disconnect the people you no longer want to receive your notifications.